History of Pamplona tournament 1990 – 2009



No invitation tournament (Magistral) in 2000. Only four players Mini in 2002.

Year	Winner (or first on tie-break)	Second (in bold : co-winner)	Third (in bold : co-winner)
2009	Georg Meier (in a four-way-tie)	Julio Granda Zuniga	Viktor Laznicka **
2008	<mark>Krishnan Sasikiran</mark>	Vladimir Malakhov	Francisco Vallejo Pons
2007	<mark>Francisco Vallejo Pons</mark>	Wang, Yue	Baadur Jobava
2006	Alexander Morozevich	Dmitry Jakovenko	Alexei Shirov
2005	Ruslan Ponomariov	Pentala Harikrishna	Ivan Cheparinov
2004	Boris Gelfand	Segei Karjakin	Lázaro Bruzón
2003	Miguel Illescas Cordoba	Luke McShane	Emil Sutovsky
2002	Rustam Kasimdzhanov	Viktor Bologan (lost blitz play-off)	Francisco Vallejo Pons
2001	Viktor Bologan	Teimour Radjabov	Zoltan Almasi
<u>1999</u>	Nigel Short	Boris Gelfand	Zoltan Almasi
<u>1998</u>	Alexander Morozevich	Michal Krasenkov	Loek Van Wely
<u>1997</u>	Miguel Illescas Cordoba	Ulf Andersson	Julio Granda Zuniga
<u>1996</u>	<mark>Zoltan Almasi</mark>	Jonathan Speelman	Zurab Azmaiparashvili
<u>1995</u>	<mark>Jordi Magem Badals</mark>	Julio Granda Zuniga	Miguel Illescas Cordoba
<u>1994</u>	Alexander Morozevich	Vadim Zvjaginsev	Jordi Magem Badals
<u>1993</u>	Jordi Magem Badals	Andrei Sokolov	Felix Izeta Txabarri
<u>1992</u>	Joel Lautier	Miguel Illescas Cordoba	Leonid Yudasin
<u>1991</u>	<mark>Leonid Yudasin</mark>	Miguel Illescas Cordoba	Zsuzsa Polgar
<u>1990</u>	Leonid Yudasin	Viktor Korchnoi runner-up	Zsuzsa Polgar* as sole third

* Pamplona (1st) 1990 was where Zsuzsa Polgar earned her final (male) GM norm to obtain the title. ** Pamplona (19th) 2009 saw a four-way-tie: Meier, Granda Zuniga, Laznicka, and **Kiril Georgiev**. Record winner is *Morozevich*, the only player winning three times outright (1994, 1998, and 2006).

Top players participating but not winning at Pamplona:

Korchnoi (2., 1990), Radjabov (2., 2001), Karjakin (2., 2004, 7., 2003), Zsuzsa Polgar (3., 1990, 3. 1991), Shirov (3., 2006), Topalov (4., 1994), Caruana (4., 2008), *Kramnik* (5., 1992 already top seeded), Ljubojevic (6., 1995), Pia Cramling (6., 1996), Bacrot (6., 1997), Nakamura (6., 2003), Judit Polgar (7., 1990), Timman (7., 1999), Leko (8., 1993 as IM) // Ponomariov, winner in 2005, finishing 7th in 1996 as titleless youngster.

Ciudad de Pamplona, played annually in December, sometimes in December / January: <u>http://www.jemchess.com/</u> and <u>http://www.jemchess.com/Oberena08/Oberena08.html</u> Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar: <u>https://chessdailynews.com/history-of-pamplona/</u> Judit Polgar remembering Viktor Korchnoi:



I was 13 when I played with Viktor Korchnoi for the first time. Later we had countless fights. We'll miss you Viktor



Twitter



Susan Polgar and Viktor Korchnoi (left: Arthur Jussupow, right: Hartmut Metz)

Susan Polgar – "Chess Olympiad in Dresden 2008. My old friends GMs Korchnoi and Yusupov before the start of round 1. When he saw me on stage, he got up and came to say hello" (unquote)

The famous "Polgár sisters": Zsuzsa (Susan) *1969, Zsofia (Sofia) *1974, and Judit *1976:

Susan Polgar is the first female to earn the (male) grandmaster title through tournament play by official norms, and is credited with breaking a number of gender barriers in chess.

Judit Polgar is the greatest female chess player, leading the world rankings for an amazing 25 years, her highest rank on the World Men's Elo Rating List was 5th in 2004 (Sonas) and 8th in 2005 (FIDE).

Lifetime achievements & bio of Susan Polgar: <u>http://www.susanpolgar.com/lifetime-achievements/</u> Lifetime achievements & bio of Judit Polgar: <u>http://www.juditpolgar.com/bio</u>

Inaugural edition

E Pamplona 1990 (9091)

Date	Type Elo Avera	ageGam	esRounds	,
Dec, 199	00Tourn2531	45	9	

Name	ELO	Points
GM <u>Yudasin, Leonid</u> , then FIDE WCC Candidate	<mark>2615</mark>	<mark>6.5</mark>
GM Korchnoi, Viktor, then FIDE WCC Candidate	2630	6.0
WGM <u>Polgar, Zsuzsa</u> (third and final male GM norm [©])	2510	5.5
GM <u>Novikov, Igor A</u>	2575	4.5
WGM <u>Polgar</u> , <u>Judit</u> (50%, no male GM norm this time)	2540	4.5
GM Illescas Cordoba, Miguel	2535	4.5
IM <u>Romero Holmes, Alfonso</u> (later GM)	2475	4.5
GM Todorcevic, Miodrag	2540	3.0
IM De La Villa Garcia, Jesus Maria (much later GM)	2475	3.0
IM Gomez Esteban, Juan Mario (much later GM)	2415	3.0

Yudasin (ranked as the world's no.8= in January – June 1991), and Korchnoi maybe also in training for their Candidate's matches in January 1991 against Ivanchuk (a humiliating loss for Yudasin by 0.5-4.5) and against Sax (4-4, Korchnoi at age of 60 advanced after rapid play-off), respectively. * Note: The FIDE player card of Romero Holmes is incorrect on this point, he got the GM title later in 1995.

PAMPLONA

A city of the north of Spain which has hosted 19 GM Tournaments (Magistral), *held at end of Dec, or in Dec / Jan.*, mostly combined with an Open, already in 1985. Due to financial problems the Magistral was no longer played in 2010 and the following years, but minor Opens were going on.



The winners were: *1985 Romero Holmes (Open)*, First edition of the invitation series in December 1990 (9091), Yudasin (half a point ahead of Korchnoi, Zsuzsa Polgar earning her third and final male GM norm), 1991 (Dec 1991 – Jan 1992), Yudasin and Illescas Cordoba, 1992 (Dec 1992 – Jan 1993) Lautier, 1993 (Dec 1993 – Jan 1994) Magen Badals, A. Sokolov and Izeta Txabarri, 1994 (Dec 1994 – Jan 1995) Morozevich, 1995 (Dec 1995 – Jan 1996) Magem Badals and Granda Zuniga, 1996 (Dec 1996 – Jan 1997) Almasi, Speelman and Azmaiparashvili, 1997 (Dec 1997 – Jan 1998) Illescas Cordoba and Andersson, 1998 (Dec 1998 – Jan 1999) Morozevich, a smashing victory at 8/9 points!, 1999 (Dec 1999 – Jan 2000) Short, +++ one year break of the Magistral +++ 2001 (Dec 2001 – Jan 2002) Bologan, 2002 (Dec) Mini Tournament of four player: Kasimdzhanov (winning blitz tie-break 2-0), and Bologan, 2003 (Dec) Illescas Cordoba, McShane and Sutovsky, 2004 (Dec) Gelfand. 2005 (Dec) Ponomariov, 2006 (Dec) Morozevich, 2007 (Dec) Vallejo Pons, 2008 (Dec) Sasikiran, 2009 (Dec, last edition) Meier, Granda Zuniga, Laznicka, and Georgiev. CNC: http://www.chessnc.com/p_tournaments/item-143.html

→ Great game from Pamplona 1994/95: Vadim Zvjaginsev vs Veselin Topalov 1-0 http://www.chessgames.com/perl/chessgame?gid=1143826 (tactical fireworks on both sides)



Julio Granda Zuniga, co-winner in 2009. Facebook

Last and 19th Ciudad de Pamplona – Magistral in 2009

Organizador	: IO Joaquin Perez-Seoane
Director del Torneo	: GM Jesus De la Villa García
Árbitro Principal	: IA Jesus Mena
Árbitro	: FA Gregorio Sola
Ciudad	: Pamplona
Categoría	: 13 (Elo medio: 2575)
Fecha	: 21.12.2009 - 29.12.2009

The **19th Pamplona GM Invitation** took place 21st-29th December 2009.

Georg Meier (Germany) edged out **Julio Granda Zuniga** (Peru), **Viktor Laznicka** (Czechoslovakia) and **Kiril Georgiev** (Bulgaria) on tie-break after all finished on 6/9.

This traditional chess tournament was organized by the Institution Oberena, sponsored by the Government of Navarre and the City council of Pamplona.

The 19th edition turned out to be the last one as Invitation Tournament at Pamplona.