TER APEL 1966, 1987, 1990 – 1997 (by Jan van Reek)

The first event was played from 28 ii until 5 iii 1966 at the occasion of 500 years cloister in Ter Apel. This village lies in the Northern Netherlands near Germany.

Fourteen members of S.C. Ter Apel celebrated their club's 50 years jubilee by organizing the second international tournament of six players from 16 until 21 ii 1987.

The third chess event lasted from 10 until 17 ii 1990. Subject was the uniting in Eastern and Western Europe. Thereafter it became an annual event.

Each opening of the tournament was a happening. In 1995, the start was spectacular: Grandmasters and local actors were transported in a carriage towards the mediaeval cloister. Soldiers from Sloten occupied the building. Groningers opened roaring cannon fire on the Frisians. Camp followers carried wounded men from the battlefield. When the battle was over, six men from Sloten were executed by bowmen in the **Hotel Boschhuis**. That was the drawing of lots.

Economic conditions had become poor in Ter Apel. Even **Heribert Hake** was unable to organize another gm event after 1997. Source: <u>http://www.endgame.nl/cloister.htm</u> (inactive)



Cloister Ter Apel

Hotel Boschhuis

Cloister champions (Ter Apel Klooster)

(6 invited players, 5 rounds, very balanced)

1966 Ree (inaugural edition, Ree also won the second edition more than twenty years later ③)

1987 Ree (on tie-break), Van der Wiel, Lobron (ahead of Miles, Smejkal, last: Ligterink 0!)

1990 Csom (ahead of joint second Uhlmann, Bagirov, then Dr. Pfleger, Van der Sterren, <u>last:</u> Nona Gaprindashvili; from 1990 on, Cloister, Ter Apel Klooster has been played annually)
1991 IM Brenninkmeijer (!) clear first, the only IM cloister champion (ahead of joint second Shirov, Bellon Lopez, Pia Cramling, all with 3/5 points, <u>last: Cloister title defender Csom</u>)
1992 Vaganian (the only player to remain undefeated, ahead of joint second Adans, Epishin, Christiansen, all with 3/5 points, 5. Sosonko, <u>last: Van der Sterren</u>)

1993 **Khalifman** (on tie-break), and **Vaganian** (ahead of joint third C. Hansen, Van Wely, and two dutch players <u>as shared last: Van der Wiel, Nijboer</u>)

1994 (13/15 draws!) Dautov clear first with 3 points and only player above 50% (ahead of joint second Khalifman, Nikolic, Andersson, Van der Sterren, all with 2.5/5 points, <u>last: Portisch</u>)
1995 Ivan Sokolov clear first with 3 points and only player above 50% (ahead of joint second Adams, Epishin, Andersson, Van Wely, all with 2.5/5 points, <u>last: title defender *Dautov*</u>)
1996 Andersson (ahead of Nikolic, followed by Svidler, Nijboer, then Leko, <u>last: Oll</u>)
1997 Shirov (ahead of Khalifman, followed by Andersson, Yusupov, Van Wely, <u>last: Hübner</u>)

Ter Apel Klooster 1997

Compiled by <u>suenteus po 147</u>

The tournament held near the Cloister at Ter Apel, The Netherlands (near the German border) was organized for the last time in 1997.

The first event had been held in 1966 during the 500 year anniversary of the Cloister. The next tournament was held 21 years later in 1987 to celebrate the 50th Jubilee of the Ter Apel chess club.

Three years after that in 1990 a third tournament was held to celebrate the unification of Europe after the Cold War. From there the tournament became an annual event until and including 1997.

For this last edition of the series, six grandmasters were invited to participate in the round robin format. They were (in order of Elo): Alexei Shirov (2690), Artur Yusupov (2665), Ulf Andersson (2655), Alexander Khalifman (2650), Loek Van Wely (2645), and Robert Huebner (2600).

In spite of the financial troubles which forced the end of the annual event with this tournament, each edition was memorable for the history and celebration displayed. This final edition was an important win for Shirov as he dominated over a handful of his active contemporaries. Crosstable:

1 Shirov 4/5 * = = 1 1 1
2 Khalifman 3.5/5 = * = = 1 1
3 Andersson 3/5 = = * = = 1
4 Yusupov 2.5/5 0 = = * 1 =
5 Van Wely 1.5/5 0 0 = 0 * 1
6 Huebner 0.5/5 0 0 0 = 0 *
http://www.chessgames.com/perl/chesscollection?cid=1007194

Portrait of the Cloister double winner in 1966 & 1987 Ree Hans (15.11.1944)



Photo: CNC

Dutch Grandmaster (1980). Author and journalist for the *NRC Handelsbladt* and columnist for Chess Cafe's website and New in Chess. Twice in a row **first place shared in the European Junior Championships 1964-65 and 1965-66**, after Ree won already two titles of Dutch U20 Champion (1961-62). **Ree was the Champion of Netherlands in 1967, 1969, 1971 and 1982**. Hans Ree also worked as an assistant of Viktor Korchnoi.

Best results on international chess circuit: **Ter Apel 1966**, 1st; **Vancouver (Canadian Open) 1971**, 1st-2nd; **joint with then reigning World Champion Boris Spassky**, Tunis 1973, 1st; Karlovac 1977, 1st-3rd; **Graz international invitation tournament 1979**, 1st (14 players); IBM Amsterdam-B 1980, 1st-2nd Ostende Open 1985, 1st-2nd (with Miles), **Ter Apel 1987**, 1st-3rd, **first on tie-break** (second win). In 1971, Ree beat Jan Hein Donner in match play (+2, =5, -1). Ten times in a row in the Chess Olympiads from 1966 until 1984.Best Elo: 2520 in 1980.

Author of Holland verlicht (1998), The Human Comedy of Chess (2001), My Chess (2013)

© 2019 by Chessdiagonals, free to copy: <u>http://www.chessdiagonals.ch/</u>